Father

It was a surprise attack

No, it was a sneak attack

Damn those heart attacks

I never said goodbye

 

I was a teenager

Father was a salesman

His last day he worried about the numbers

The next day he was and worried no more

I never said goodbye

 

I remember him in bits and pieces

Like a box of popcorn

The only memories are the bits and pieces left on your shirt

I never said goodbye

 

Mother

Her way to exit

Was no surprise attack

Cancer

Cancer, like a cat, plays with you

The game had several rounds

Lasted years

 

We said goodbye

In that final hour I stroked her leg

I felt like a seven year old

Holding on to her dress

Don’t lose me Mom

We said goodbye

 

Father and Mother

Mother’s long goodbye

Father’s quick exit

I realize now

Life is one long goodbye

Final words

Are in the living

 

____________